fantastic four 65

I want to talk about this panel.  It’s from part one of Geoff Johns and Oliver Coipel’s pretty good “Red Zone” storyline.  But it’s a rare instance of “normal” humans being shown in comics having a real conversation that extends for over a page.

But look at it: They are wrestling with the real problems that face normal humans, and a super-threat comes along that is supposed to put it all into perspective.

I hate this philosophy.  It drives me nuts.  It’s complete bullshit.

As a person with a chronic and painful disability, I am often the one that people look at and say, “Wow!  I’m grateful I’m not him!”

That is so Goddamn demeaning.

My experiences are real and valid and valuable, and I don’t need your contempt/pity disguised as “You’re so strong/brave/how-do-you-do-it!”

I found this panel offensive.  Mortgages, washing machines, providing for our families are all real problems for real people.  The fact that superfolks can come along and have big fights doesn’t change that or add perspective.

It’s just something else that makes life a challenge.

Pardon the rant.  That is all.

